IntrepidWoman's Journey

Three more sleeps . . .

Posted on: July 6, 2010

Time has gone by so quickly since this trip was first planned. And now, it goes by slowly. Once in France, in only 3 sleeps (not counting the 10 hours on the plane), I want to savor every minute and make a million memories.

When I had 3 weeks in China (Shanghai, Beijing, then Hong Kong) in 2004, I remember being concerned about constantly taking photos. I actually took over 700, but I think I was behind the camera too much. This time I want to be in the moment, have the experience and then take the photo. Not sure if that makes sense.

It has to do with the fact that I am right-brained and have not created art for a long time. I have taught it and viewed it, but not created it. My camera has been my creative tool in the last dozen years, and I have been desperate to express myself creatively. But it has not been enough.

Back in university, a million years ago, I spent long periods of time with canvases that I made myself and vast amounts of paint, mostly black, and various methods of application and experimentation. I was totally a process artist. The end result did not matter as much as the process that I allowed to take me over entirely. I want that again. I want to paint again, but I do not know where to start. I cannot start where I left off because a lot of time has passed and I am not the same person. My life journey since I last painted has been long and painful and awesome and has included a dozen other emotions.

I hope that by standing in the same room with some of the most famous art ever created over time, that I will be inspired to come home and get back to my own artistic journey. I hope that this trip is my place to start again.

1 Response to "Three more sleeps . . ."

I love it! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

Leave a Reply

Historically Speaking

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

