IntrepidWoman's Journey

France changed me . . .

Posted on: July 31, 2010

I am home. Laundry is done, unpacking is mostly done (throwing away BIG suitcase, will never travel like that again). I have had 8 hours sleep, my French coffee, two ibuprofen, and cut my hair very short. All this since arriving near midnight last night!

It is nice to have a dryer again for my clothes, feel the chill of Alberta weather and living in a basement suite, enjoy the quiet of being out-of-town on the ranch, sleeping in my own bed, drinking from my favorite mug, and looking around at my ‘stuff’.

But I miss France – the beauty of the buildings, heat and humidity, exuberant people, sleeping on the roof deck under the stars, the art, music and culture, walking the many narrow streets with camera in one hand and water container in other, eating at the outdoor cafes late in the evening, living and loving with Jack, Lyndsey and David.

It was the perfect holiday. I came home with a calmness in my soul and a determination to make some quality changes in my life. I came home content.

Paula said it exactly right: I found the authentic me again.

Leave a Reply

Historically Speaking

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

