IntrepidWoman's Journey

Lessons. It is always about lessons…

Posted on: November 7, 2010

Lower than low is how I was feeling for the last couple of hours. I have been on an emotional rollercoaster ride for several months over health issues and am into the home stretch of having them taken care of. This last week has been busy doing extra work at the office to leave everything in good shape for others while I am off following surgery in a few days.

Tonight I came home very tired and stressed as the time is getting closer to the surgery date and that is on my mind. I live out-of-town in a basement suite on a horse ranch. The owners are the nicest young couple you could ever meet and they have a menagerie of animals – horses, dogs, cats, goats and for me that is heaven. I do not have any pets at this time in my life but always have had, so I do enjoy being surrounded by theirs.

A few hours ago one of their little dogs started barking non-stop upstairs and this went on for a long time. I knew the 3 dogs were in the house and that their ‘parents’ were not home, so I finally went up and let them out.  Sierra, the gentle golden retriever, galloped down the steps and squatted on the lawn for a pee, followed by the little chubby guy, who also headed straight for the grass.

The feisty little female ran over to the edge of the lawn, barking non-stop at me. She did not pee. She did not stop barking. I called the other two back into the house, but the little brown barking ‘brat’ would not come in and would not stop barking. I tried all sorts of things like going inside so she could not see me and holding the door slightly ajar, then walking over to my entrance and hiding inside.

Suddenly I looked around and she was gone. The barking had stopped instantly. My heart sank. Without a doubt, I knew that she had been grabbed by a wild animal. I called her and ran for the flashlight to check around the house for her, but found nothing. I turned my car headlights in the direction she had disappeared and saw nothing. I drove over to the barn, slowly, shining the flashlight out the open car window, hoping she had headed to the barn. Nothing. Why had I let them out after dark?

More time went by and finally I started to cry. Then I sat in the car with the windows open, waiting for my landlords to come home so I could tell them that I had fed their little dog to who-knows-what. That is when I heard it. The sound of coyotes, baying in the distance.

There I sat, the world’s worst person, sitting inside a cold car, listening to wild animal cries and realizing I had handed them supper. After what seemed like a very long time and many tears later, that nice young couple arrived home. I looked at them and told them what I had done.

It was terrible. They were so understanding. “Accidents happen.”  “She might be at the barn.” “It’s okay.””We’ll go look for her.”

It was not okay. He headed in the car over to the barn and she put on a coat to walk around the perimeter of the house. I came inside and sat on the couch, wishing this night had never happened. I prayed for a miracle. I made bargains with God, knowing that an animal whisked away in the night could not magically return, just because I felt bad.

Within 5 minutes they were both back and at my door, surrounded by three dogs and a cat. The little brown dog had gone under the front deck and hid there, coming out when she heard a familiar voice.

There are no words to say how relieved I was and how glad I was to see that little brown ball of barking fur.

Moral of the story: Sometimes when you ask God for a favor and you don’t think He can possibly manage it, shame on you! He can do all things.

I am going to sleep so soundly tonight as I am totally exhausted by such an emotional experience.  Lessons. It is always about lessons.

Leave a Reply

Historically Speaking

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

