IntrepidWoman's Journey

Sheri’s Legacy

Posted on: August 16, 2011

She died earlier this year, at the age of 63,
after several years of serious health issues.

During the worst times with her health, Sheri was a woman of formidable strength and determination. In all things in her life, whether she was ‘right’ according to those who got to vote or wrong according to the same folks, Sheri always dug her heels in and held firm. She never sat on the fence, so you did not have to push her one way or the other.

That organ which gave her the most problem, her heart, was also what many loved about her. Sheri had a big heart. She was so kind, believing in paying it forward and making RAK (random acts of kindness) part of her daily life.  She lived by the rule of kindness.

As postmaster for many years, she helped seniors with taxes and filling out forms and that carried over to helping them with rides and visits and much more.

She was a mother bear who stood by and stood up for her two sons, Ricky and Randy, every day of their lives, as children and adults.

When her granddaughters were born, there was never a prouder Nana. She could not do enough for them and they became princesses the instant they walked through her door. They entered a world of imagination and laughter and their every wish was granted by Nana.

My sons were surprised when I told them I wanted my grandchildren to call me Nana. I had had ‘grandmothers’ and so had they, so it was hard for them to understand why the change.

For several years I had watched Sheri with her granddaughters and envied how they lovingly called her ‘Nana’ and ‘Nan’. I knew I wanted to be just like her. When each of my grandchildren was born, Sheri shared my joy with gifts and hugs and I became Nana too.

Sheri did everything in a big way, with emotion, joy, passion and conviction. Despite her failing health, she lived a full life, enjoying volunteering and friendships galore.

Going to a restaurant with her was an event that always included table hopping and catching-up conversations because she knew everybody.

Sheri’s greatest heartbreak was losing her eldest son Ricky and a year later, she passed away. They both had hearts that could not go on.

To know Sheri was to know much laughter and generosity and love. I can still see her at sorority, when she was chosen as the sweetheart (many times over the years). She would don the heart-shaped glasses and tiara and laugh with joy as her sorority sisters honored their beautiful friend.

When I quit teaching, bought a church and started renovating, Sheri was there, up on the ladder painting the walls. She was my first customer the day I opened my little cafe in Bellevue and came many times over the next few years for ‘ bubble tea’, bread pudding and always good conversation.

I drove past her house recently because I still cannot believe she is gone. Just as I passed it, my battery light went on and the car went dead. I shut off the key, waited a second and it started again immediately. Hmmm.

“That’s not funny, Sheri!” I said out loud and slowly drove home.

3 Responses to "Sheri’s Legacy"

As you were blessed to have Sheri in your life, so was she blessed to have you. Looks as though her sense of ha-ha is still with us, Jan.

We lost touch when I moved away and that makes me sad now, but over many years, we did have our moments and they were always filled with laughter.

awww…Jan, what a wonderful eulogy! Sheri was a great woman, I miss her too…I’ll try to not drive past her house…lol

Leave a Reply

Historically Speaking

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

